ELECTRIC CITIZEN Announce New Single and US Tour with Fu Manchu

Electric Citizen have barely been together a year and this gnarly cut [‘Burning In Hell’] melds 60s organ-stoked psychedelia with a fuzzed up 70s stomp. Meanwhile singer Laura Dolan’s witchily layered vocals set Electric Citizen apart from other retro-revivalists.”
VICE Noisey

Ahead of the release of their debut album Sateen and to celebrate their confirmation as US tour support to Fu Manchu next month, RidingEasy Records (formerly EasyRider Records) has announced ‘Light Years Beyond’ as Electric Citizen’s debut single on the LA based label.

Following on from their recent premiere of ‘Burning In Hell’ on VICE’s Noisey, ‘Light Years Beyond’ is a new and as yet unheard track from the hotly tipped Cincinnati quartet which captures on record exactly what fans will soon experience first hand over the coming weeks. With exclusive artwork by Neil Krug (The Horrors, Boards Of Canada) the song is a swirling and ferocious concoction of guitars and drums encased in a four minute blast of rock ‘n’ roll ceremony, headed by the most enigmatic of high priestesses.

Formed less than a year ago by guitarist Ross Dolan, vocalist Laura Dolan, Nick Vogelpohl (bass) and Nate Wagner (drums) Electric Citizen has had a busy year turning heads and ears onto their dark and esoteric style of haunting and unhallowed ’60s West Coast and decidedly British-influenced psychedelic rock.

Like recent records by similarly ’70s possessed anti-modernists Blood Ceremony, Wolf People and Uncle Acid and the Deadbeats, ‘Light Years Beyond’ taken from Sateen, and the flip ‘Ghost Of Me’ was recorded and produced by fellow Ohioan and local stalwart Brian Olive (The Greenhornes, Soledad Brothers). Drawing on sounds synonymous with the roots of early ’70s proto-metal and groups such as Sir Lord Baltimore, Pentagram and the daemonic spirit of Amon DüülII, the single is an electrifying introduction to the winners of the Best Rock Band honour at the 2014 Cincinnati Entertainment Awards.

After performing recent shows with Dead Meadow, Spirit Caravan and The Sword the band take to the road over the next few months as official support to stoner rock Gods Fu Manchu on their North American tour.

‘Light Years Beyond’ will be available on 20 May 2014 and paves the way for Sateen which will be officially released via RidingEasy Records on 1 July 2014.

Track Listing:
1. Light Years Beyond (4:31)
2. Ghost Of Me (3:23)

Label: RidingEasy Records
Formats: 7″ Single
Web: easyriderrecords.com
Twitter: @electriccitizn
Instagram: @electriccitizenband

Live Dates:
26 April – AFTERSHOCK, Kansas City, MO (w. Kadavar + Sons Of Hun)
30 April – BOTTOM OF THE HILL, San Francisco, CA (w. Fu Manchu)
1 May – THE ALLEY, Reno, NV (w. Fu Manchu)
3 May – DANTE’S, Portland, OR (w. Fu Manchu)
4 May – EL CORAZON, Seattle, WA (w. Fu Manchu)
6 May – CLUB SOUND, Salt Lake City, UT (w. Fu Manchu)
7 May – MARQUIS THEATRE, Denver, CO (w. Fu Manchu)
9 May – NETHER BAR, Minneapolis
10 May – SUBTERRANEAN, Chicago (w. Fu Manchu)
11 May – SMALLS, Detroit, MI (w. Fu Manchu)
13 May – ACE OF CUPS, Columbus, OH (w. Fu Manchu)
14 May – GROG SHOP, Cleveland, OH (w. Fu Manchu)
16 May – LEE’S PALACE, Toronto, ON (w. Fu Manchu)
17 May – CABARET MILE END, Montreal, QC (w. Fu Manchu)
19 May – MERCURY LOUNGE, New York, NY (w. Fu Manchu)
20 May – THE SINCLAIR, Boston, MA (w. Fu Manchu)
21 May – BARBARY, Philadelphia, PA (w. Fu Manchu)
23 May – ROCK & ROLL HOTEL, Washington, DC (w. Fu Manchu)
24 May – KINGS, Raleigh, NC (w. Fu Manchu)
25 May – EARL, Atlanta, GA (w. Fu Manchu)
27 May – RED 7, Austin, TX (w. Fu Manchu)
28 May – GAS MONKEY, Dallas, TX (w. Fu Manchu)
31 May – PUB ROCK LIVE, Mesa, AZ (w. Fu Manchu)
1 June – TBA, Albuquerque, NM
2 June – BLACK SHEEP, Colorado Springs, CO
3 June – RIOT ROOM, Kansas City, MO


Website – electriccitizenband.com
Bandcamp – electriccitizenband.bandcamp.com
Facebook – facebook.com/ElectricCitizen
Twitter – @electriccitizN
Instagram – @electriccitizenband

RidingEasy Records:
Formed in 2013 out of the sleepy beach town of Hermosa Beach, Los Angeles, RidingEasy Records (formerly EasyRider Records) is dedicated to unearthing the finest in heavy psych, doom, stoner and heavy rock. Products include limited edition runs of vinyl and cassettes with creative packaging and the label has eleven bands currently signed to its roster; Electric Citizen, The Well, Salem’s Pot, Slow Season, Albino Python, Sons of Huns, Black Prism, Old Man’s Will (US only), Monolord, Shooting Guns and Spiral Shades. RidingEasy Records has also secured the exclusive rights to cassette releases by Sleep, Witchcraft, Kadavar, Graveyard, Valfader, FUZZ and Orchid with more titles to come.

Official Site – easyriderrecords.com
Facebook – facebook.com/easyriderrecords
Twitter – @easyriderrecord
Instagram – @easyriderrecord
YouTube – youtube.com/user/easyriderrecords
SoundCloud – soundcloud.com/easyriderrecords