Doom-bearers POSEIDON stream ‘Chainbreaker’ with Terrorizer

Having gestated for almost a year in the belly of East London, Poseidon finally rise to the surface in 2017 with their debut album Prologue, released worldwide this July on Ripple Music.

With their feet planted firmly in the dense sounds of 70s rock and doom metal, and having spawned afresh from the now defunct band Light Bearer, Poseidon bring together a sound that explores vast sonic landscapes. Featuring a rage of aggressive riffs, barked vocals and elemental drums to sea-deep rhythms and unearthly melodies, they invoke a catastrophic nature. Diving headfirst into an abyss of heavy rock their latest track ‘Chainbreaker’ finds pulverising guitars soundtracking moments of stark, barren beauty as Neurosis-like drones hang over nuclear test sites, threatening apocalypse with every note. Stemming from a desire to create emotionally dense sludge combined with elements of sparse, melancholic atmosphere; Poseidon’s Prologue evokes the diverse influence of acts such as Pink Floyd, Black Flag and 16 Horsepower.

Prologue, as the title suggests, is the introductory part of an ongoing narrative called The Medius Chronicle,” explains drummer Raza Khan. “This concept will carry through to future records and detail the collapse of civilization and its reconstruction all wrapped in a post apocalyptic sci-fi opera.”

Having already stormed major festivals such as DesertFest London, Bloodstock Open Air and Hard Rock Hell, and shared stages with the likes of Mastodon, Orange Goblin and Electric Citizen, Poseidon are also poised to hit the road this month for a UK-wide tour with Dallas rockers and fellow Ripple Music brethren Mothership, the full list of dates for which can be found below.

Prologue, the band’s debut album is released on 21st July 2017 via Ripple Music and you can stream and share new song ‘Chainbreaker’ exclusively via Terrorizer here –

Tour Dates w. Mothership:
25th June – Milton Keynes, UK – Craufurd Arms
26th June – Coventry, UK – The Phoenix
27th June – Manchester, UK – Factory
28th June – Edinburgh, UK – Bannermans
29th June – Cardiff, UK – Fuel
30th June – Bournemouth, UK – The Anvil
1st July – London, UK- The Black Heart

UK Tour Dates with Poseidon

VOKONIS: Swedish doom trio to release The Sunken Djinn album on Ripple Music | Stream title track exclusively via Decibel Magazine

Hailing from Borås, Sweden’s ‘City of Rain’ and formed in 2015 out of the ashes of adrift stoner rock band Creedsman Arise, Vokonis will release their follow up to last year’s critically acclaimed Olde One Ascending this June on the Californian label Ripple Music.

Entitled The Sunken Djinn, for the Swedish doom trio – featuring guitarist/vocalist Simon Ohlsson, drummer Emil Larsson and bassist Jonte Johansson – this album marks a huge leap forward in sound and scope. Still loosely rooted in traditional stoner rock with enough lumbering fuzz riffs and monolithic grooves to keep you in a permanent fug of mystification, this time around their entire approach is tempered by an even darker psychedelic perspective. As best heard on the album’s epic title track, which consists of two parts sonic tapestry and one part bloodied ten-ton hammer.

Following countless appearances in the Underground’s essential heavy directory The Doom Charts and frequent “Next Big Thing” mentions in end of year lists, Vokonis’ The Sunken Djinn should mark the arrival of Sweden’s next great hard rock and heavy metal export.

The Sunken Djinn (LP) by Vokonis is released on 9th June on Ripple Music and will be preceded by their brand new single ‘The Sunken Djinn’, released on 7” vinyl on 13th May.

Stream the track exclusively via Decibel Magazine HERE

Norwegian progressive metallers THE SOUNDBYTE announce Solitary IV

Led by visionary musician Trond Engum, composer and guitarist for Norwegian experimental band The 3rd and The Mortal, The Soundbyte is a solo venture intended to pierce the dark heart of avant-garde and experimental metal.

Since their formation in 1998 in Trondheim, Norway, The Soundbyte has become an unstoppable vehicle for creative exploration and one that has found Engum drawing on a myriad of outsider influences ranging from Norwegian folk, electro-acoustic and ambient forms of progressive and post-rock. In collaboration with fellow The 3rd and The Mortal member and accomplished drummer Rune Hoemsnes, in addition to the central line up for Solitary IV – their fourth full-length album and first for new label Temple of Torturous Records – the album also consists of contributions from several excellent guest musicians, including amongst others the expressive vocal styling of singers Tone Åse and Kirsti Huke.

Built almost entirely around Engum’s unique guitar and electronic sound, Hoemsnes’ signature rhythms and haunting and ethereal vocal work The Soundbyte has created what is undoubtedly their finest work to date and 2017’s most progressively breathtaking record. Solidifying the duo’s off-kilter vision for sonic expression and paying painstaking attention to every detail, it is a multifaceted endeavor designed for constant re-visitation and one that will reward listeners time and time again.

Recorded by Engum himself, co-mixed with Michael Tibes (Helloween, Kamelot) and mastered by Neil Pickles (Piano Interrupted, Fernandez 4), Solitary IV by The Soundbyte will be released on 30th June via ToT Records as a deluxe digipack with a limited LP release to follow this Autumn.

Check out the trailer for new song ‘Descending’ here:

Austin’s DESTROYER OF LIGHT to unearth Chamber of Horrors this July

Hailing from Austin, TX, harbingers of doom Destroyer of Light are no idlers. Within a year of forming in 2012 and with little mind to wait around, the heavy-as-hell/louder-than-war quartet released their Self-Titled EP themselves and in doing so kick started what would became an ongoing DIY endeavor driven by huge riffs, hallowed tales and endless road journeys.

No matter which rock you look under there’s no hiding the fact that the band is heavily indebted to the darker side of stoner metal and everything that goes along with it. Bathed in an aural haze and ominous song craft, Destroyer of Light’s music is unmistakably one of grim theatricality and crushing heavy metal dirges. Influences such as Electric Wizard, Mercyful Fate, EYEHATEGOD and Autopsy serve as striking counterpoints to the literary and filmic references they dig up in Wiccan-stalked forests and horror anthologies. Following up on their debut in 2014 with their second release Bizarre Tales Vol. 2, if anyone just so happened to be in any doubt, death and destruction is very much the order of service and confessional sermons are delivered in a constant sea of feedback and percussive right hooks.

This July however Destroyer of Light are primed to unearth their latest album, a haunting and humid foray into the realms of doom rock, aptly titled Chamber of Horrors. Dragging their music into a cavernous basement to experiment freely with underground sounds, listeners are treated to a ritual ear beating and a memorable trip into psychedelic realms unknown.

Chamber of Horrors by Destroyer of Light will be released on 14th July on Heavy Friends Records. In the meantime, stream and share new song ‘Prisoner of Eternity’ right here: